Arizona

Make some noise for The Jolene Theory – David Christopher (Guitar/Vocals) Adrian Herbert (Drummer) – who release their debut album The Standing Room Diaries tomorrow. It’s tonight that the journey starts with the official launch and listening party at Green Poppy Cafe in Shellharbour.

It’s a great honour to have been able to contribute the opening track to the album – Arizona. As many of you are aware David Christopher and I have worked on a few songs together now and this song evolved in a similar synchronistic fashion. After a walk to Shelly beach, a few long blacks and a passing comment by me saying ‘yeah I’ve got something a little heavier’ so when we arrived home I sung a few lines (believe me you don’t want to hear it!) and Dave recorded this on his ipod. Then from memory I think the guys had a demo the next day.

This song came to me courtesy of a guitar piece that wouldn’t go away…It appears in perfection during the chorus. The album has excited me, which is something quite difficult to do and I can see it being extremely well received. Hats off to DC and Red for their creative talents that is also coupled with hard work…

Below you’ll find the lyrics to Arizona and look forward to hearing what you think about a song that was written in Arizona during a time of confusion!

Share your truth…

ARIZONA

Eyes so open, minds so closed
Only one way in but there’s no way out

Hearts gone wild yet this face still smiles
I’m walkin’ ’round where my feet can’t touch the ground
But tonight I’m gonna make it right
But tonight I’m gonna make it… all right…

I don’t even know what you said
I don’t even know what you like
I don’t even know if you care
I don’t even know what’s inside
I don’t even know what you said
I don’t even know what you like
I don’t even know if you care
But I’m not taking sides

I hear you speak but there’s no sound
When you’re goin’ up there’s only one way down

Hearts gone wild yet this face still smiles
I’m walkin’ ’round where my feet can’t touch the ground
But tonight I’m gonna make it right
But tonight I’m gonna make it… all right…

REPEAT CHORUS

I said it all in see you later, but you weren’t up with the times
Gonna put some pen to paper …‘cause my heart just resigned

REPEAT CHORUS

What you said
Or what you like
Or if you care
Or what’s inside
What you said
Or what you like
Or if you care
I’m not taking sides

© Michael Lee/David Christopher/Adrian Herbert 2012

Leave a Reply

