(i) Before

I set out to write three songs that tell a complete story and complement one another. Before, Today, Tomorrow…I wrote them about two years ago and edited them this morning. Think of a country melody to complement the lyrics…

(i) BEFORE

Before yesterday
Don’t remember when
I put out my hand
No one was there

Surrounded by air
It would seem that no one cared

Looking for something
Someone to hold onto
Used to dream of someone like you
The answer to the eternal prayer (Surrounded by air)

Surrounded by air
It would seem that no one cared
Into the mirror I would stare
This face of despair surrounded by air

Sometime I don’t know when
I wrote down what it is that others see
Thought at the time
That this could not be me

The day before yesterday
I don’t know when
I put out my hand
Yet no one was there
It was me surrounded by air
Alone and scared

Surrounded by air
It would seem that no one cared
Into the mirror I would stare
This face of despair surrounded by air

Someday I don’t know when
Memories on the wall
Someday I don’t know when
Some day from before

© Michael Lee 2013

4 Comments on “(i) Before

  1. Pingback: Today |

  2. Pingback: (iii) Tomorrow |

Leave a Reply

